Read and Write: Write on!!

As I peruse through random blogs of random authors, I realize how many different styles of bloggers there are.  It’s rather fun.  It’s even better than going to a book store.  You never know what you’re going to run into with each peek into someone’s blog.  Some of the stories I’ve read are raw, detailed, and deeply personal.  Many are beautifully written. It makes me want to write better.

As I reflect on the different writing styles, I realize that a significant key to writing well is reflected on what is being read.  In addition, it seems to me that what we read reflects how we write.  I’m rusty in reading philosophical texts and novels.  However, I’ve managed to become proficient at reading websites, journal articles, and journal reviews.  I’ve noticed that my blog is becoming more of a journal entry reflective of the writing I need to do for my master’s program with a personal twist. The original purpose of my blog is much different than what is currently being produced.

As I reflect on what I remember from my past writing endeavors, what I’ve seen in blogs I’ve recently read, and my current writing style, I realize I might want to get back into reading a genre of literature that I want to reflect in my writing style.  It’s fun to free-flow my thoughts.  However, to be more effective, I just might need to immerse myself in other writings, blogs, and genres in the effort to gain a new “twist” to my writing style, become more proficient, and improve my writing skills.

Steve Tobak seems to agree with me.  For the Entrepreneur.com site, he provides tips he has utilized to write well.  Here are some of his suggestions:

  • Read.. a lot… from a variety of genres.
  • Pay attention to the style of writing of whatever you are reading (email, blog, research article, books, etc).
  • Learn from other writers (including emails from bosses) and capitalize on what was effective
  • Organize your thoughts and write coherently.
  • “Be genuine, direct, clear and concise. Say what you mean and mean what you say. Less is more. Keep it simple.”
  • Make a genuine connection with your listening (i.e. reading) audience
  • Utilize the axiom: “Tell them what you’re going to tell them, then tell them, then tell them what you told them.”
  • Be aware of grammar and composition – even if writing in conversational form.

Now it’s time for me to apply what I’m thinking might work, and what I’ve now learned has worked for others: Read… a lot… from a variety of sources and genres.  Pay attention as I read.  Be organized and coherent.  When I write, captivate and attract my intended audience.

Write on!!

Leave a Reply

