Family

There’s nothing like family. No matter whether the dynamics are good or bad, it’s nothing like being able to feel wanted, accepted, and comfortable around every single family member – “close” or “distant,” a parent, sibling, or some long-lost cousin, aunt, uncle…

My dad actually made the effort to see me as he was on his way coming back from a trip.  His visits are always much briefer than the rest of his family – and especially Linda’s family.  However, the length of his visits are what are most comfortable for the both of us.  I just feel extremely grateful and honored that he and his wife made the effort to stop by, totally exhausted, to say hello for 10 minutes that lasted for 20.

I’ve worked super hard over the years to maintain a relationship – and develop a comfortable relationship – with my dad and sister.  The hard work paid off.  I’m so very grateful.  I feel fulfilled that I reached an end goal with success.

Here are some quotes of Winston Churchill that seem to apply to my quest in reuniting with my immediate family as best as I can (keeping all our limitations in mind):

“Never never never give up.”

“If you’re going through hell, keep going”

“Success is not final… Failure is not fatal… it’s the courage to continue that counts.”

“You create your own universe as you go along.”

 

Love this quote from my uncle (that he got from who-knows-where):

“You can pick your nose.  You can pick your friends.  But you can’t pick your relatives.”

 

And this quote by Andre Maurois:

“Without a family, man, alone in the world, trembles with the cold.”

 

Jane Howard sums it all up:

“Call it a clan, call it a network, call it a tribe, call it a family:  Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one.”

Leave a Reply

