Is It Really All That Funny?

I often find myself laughing.  Sometimes at the right time.  Other times at inopportune moments.  

When I do laugh, do I really think it’s all that funny?  Maybe.  Maybe not.  When I say “that’s hilarious” do I really think it’s hilarious?  Maybe, maybe not.

Due to my highly unusual, atypical background, I see things from many different perspectives.  Sometimes I see things literally.  Many times I see the irony of the subject that is said, implied, or inferred.  Most times I see things from a perspective other than where my personal beliefs and viewpoints lie.  I see things from a different lens than “the norm” or the obvious.  Thus, I laugh or say “that’s hilarious” when it just might not be all that funny.

It is good to laugh.  It is good to see the “funny” side of things, the irony, the side that most don’t look at.  However, because of this, laughter can be inconvenient, misunderstood, and totally taken a different way than is intended.  

So, when I laugh, do I really think it’s funny?  Maybe, maybe not.  You’ll have to get to know me well – or ask me – to figure that out.  

Leave a Reply

