Making a Difference

Making a difference in whatever capacity is wonderful, rewarding, and fulfilling.

Being a leader as a student is something I’ve always wanted to do.  As a participant of various student committees, I have had many opportunities to learn and grow through leadership activities.

I am currently participating as a Co-Chair for the Mentoring Committee.  This is absolutely wonderful as I love the idea of mentorship.  I love how, through mentors, individuals can obtain success not only as a student, but as a professional.  Many times mentors help individuals through personal challenges as well.  As Co-Chair of the Mentoring Committee, I am able to participate in recognizing outstanding leaders and mentors who have encouraged others to reach personal and professional success.

Last year I was able to work as the Director of Employment Communication.  This, too, was fulfilling as I was able to assist others toward the process of enabling individuals to have yet another resource in the effort to obtain professional success through providing job leads.  In addition, I was able to recruit participation in finding the employment opportunities.  There is nothing like teamwork to meet an end goal.

It is very good when we live our lives where we assist others in whatever capacity we can.  It is wonderful to make a positive difference in someone else’s life either individually or collectively.  Sometimes it is only a small number of people, but some people have the capacity and ability to reach thousands – and sometimes millions.  Sometimes we act solo, and other times in community.

It has always been a goal of mine to make a difference.  Through encouragement of my academic pursuits, as well as personal dreams and ambitions, I have been able to participate in ways that would otherwise be unknown and unattainable.  Through personal experience, I have been able to assist individuals and professionals in ways that I would have otherwise been incapable of doing.

I sincerely hope that you find ways to make a difference either in one person’s life, or in many.  I hope you follow dreams and goals that will empower you to make a difference in ways that would otherwise be unattainable.  I strongly encourage you to find mentors and individuals to walk along side of you who will assist you in being able to make a difference as a leader, friend, mentor, community member, and/or individual.

Leave a Reply

