Positivity and Motivation

As I continue the job hunt while being unemployed – now temporarily – yeah – I’ve been working on taking a time out.  This, for me, is nigh impossible.  However, for these past 3.5 days, I was quite successful.  It was fantastically wonderful.  I used it as a time for healing, rejuvenation, and sleep – lots of sleep.  

It’s important to take a time-out to stay motivated, keep a positive outlook, stay inspired, and become rejuvenated in order to attain the goals that are waiting to be reached.  I’ve been trying, but – until this weekend – I have been vastly unsuccessful.

My three point five days of inactivity ended this evening where I found inspiration to apply to two jobs.  The jobs seem interesting where they would increase skills I have been laying a foundation on.  It’s wonderful to find hope and inspiration while performing the daunting – and sometimes discouraging – application and searching process.

I am really hoping that the new job through MDC – Making A Difference In Community – will work out to be a fantastic experience that will bring amazing possibilities and potential.  (I absolutely love the title of the organization.)  However, I have also discovered a full time job that is an affiliate with an employer that I loved.  I’m certain that there will be other applicants with qualifications that outshine mine, but the opportunity definitely made me smile.  

While notifying a reference that I had applied to some positions that seemed to be fun – and thanking her for her reference for the job for MDC (which apparently turned out to be quite lengthy and time consuming) – I got sidetracked.  

I never realized LinkedIn could be as distracting nor as interesting as Facebook.  I noticed employees grumbling about employees getting distracted by LinkedIn.  (Ironically I noticed this through news feeds posted on its site.)  I thought it was more of a side-note.  Instead, I’ve come to realize that it really is possible to find all sorts of entertaining and interesting “stuff.” Fascinatingly, I’m sure there is more that I’m not yet aware of.  

On top of being connected with people I’ve met and known from here there and everywhere, I’ve found job leads, inspirational quotes, learned of friend’s employment successes, and now have found some sort of link to blogs under “Pulse.”  How I found the “Pulse,” I have no idea.  I’m not even sure I’ll be able to find it again. 

As I perused through a few titles, I noticed Tanoop Sungha’s “Pulse” blog entitled “A Few Steps Of Motivation.”  There were a few tips that stood out as being interesting.  The first thing that jumped out was the suggestion to clean your house and workspace twice a week.  

I tend to discover that I accumulate piles.  They tend to eventually land in neat piles, but piles nonetheless.  There are usually two piles: a “to-do” pile and a “reference” pile.  If there are a number of piles, they are usually a series of “to-do” piles that are piled according to how urgently I deem action ought to happen.  (This can be re-arranged at any time depending on my motivation – or procrastination – level as to how long I can get away with not doing that particular task at that particular time.)  Due to my perceived ever present need for piles, I get quite excited when my dining room table and desk at work are clear – entirely clear – of any form of paper (except for maybe a card – or kind and thoughtful note – from someone and my Franklin Planner where the ream of paper is neatly housed in a binder).  

Tanoop also suggests to take a mini vacation each month.  I think that’s an excellent idea.  I thought about resuming that intentional activity that since I stopped taking time out to go something somewhere, but I keep getting distracted and find excuses.  However, I have been making it a point to go on a long walk at least once a week.  I’ve also been working on taking time-outs each evening.  I can’t say that I’ve entirely reached that goal, but I’m working on it.

Another idea he shared is to work in bursts lasting somewhere between 90 and 120 minutes.  I’m not sure that I can do that.  Once I’m in a groove, there is no stopping me if I’m in a conducive environment to do so.  Once I stop being productive, I sidetrack myself until it’s time to go “back at it.”  However, now that I think of it, I sometimes find myself “spinning my wheels” and feel guilty about the idea of doing something else when I feel it’s necessary to work on the particular project I happen to be trying to do at that particular moment.  I’ll have to work on noticing when that happens and purposefully redirect my focus on a different task or activity until I can refocus with successful productivity on the initial task.  Hmm…  

Something that has always been important to me is to set goals that I want to achieve.  (I’m assuming he’s referring to long-term goals or goals that I may or may not have an idea how it will happen.)  Tanoop suggests posting these goals on a board where they will be read on a frequent basis.  In the meantime, he suggests to set mini goals and refer to positive quotes to stay motivated and inspired to reach these goals.  Ironically, I’ve found that intentionally setting goals really works.  I haven’t practiced posting them, but I have referred to my end goals quite frequently and try to get a glimpse as to how I am doing toward attaining these goals.  

The final take-home note I find to be important in Tanoop’s list is to not regret the past, but to keep looking forward.  

I was told “You are the most resilient person I know.”  The person who told me this was a professor who has taught and mentored thousands of people through their ups and downs in life in college and beyond.  I strongly believe that in order to keep going, find success, and realize dreams come true, resilience is the only option.  Failure and giving up comes and goes – but thankfully has always been short-lived when I become overwhelmed with discouragement and/or self-loathing.

I had a severe set-back this winter.  Once again – thanks to all the practice I’ve had over the years – I did not stay down long.  I don’t think many would’ve been able to get back up.  However, resilience did kick in.  I totally recommend making sure you develop skills that are needed to keep going when “life gives you lemons.” 

I’m certain Tanoop has gathered the tips he wrote through inspirational sources he’s gathered here and there.  However, this tip that he wrote is a great thing to remember:  “Fill your mind with creative, positive, and ambitious thoughts. Don’t give energy to your fears and worries. They do nothing but move you further away from your goals.”

And so, I will continue my job hunt while applying determination, inspiration, motivation, and resilience while utilizing techniques – used in the past and new ones I’m learning about – that will aid toward the effort to attain my end goals.  

As Brian Gallagher wrote for United Way, “Dream Big. Anything is Possible.”

 

2 thoughts on “Positivity and Motivation

Leave a Reply

